The TEAR team

Dr. Alice-Agnes Gabriel

Alice-Agnes Gabriel

Alice leads the Earthquake Physics group within the Seismology chair of the Institute of Geophysics at LMU Munich. She is focusing on understanding the physics of earthquakes using numerical models, theoretical analysis and observations from natural earthquakes and laboratory experiments. Her group studies geophysical problems on a range of scales, from earthquake-tsunami interaction in subduction zones to fracture activation in geo-reservoirs. Their research is distinguished by large-scale earthquake scenarios of unforeseen degree of realism realised on some of the largest supercomputers worldwide. Her team works on modern software packages for earthquake simulations ("SeisSol" and "ExaHyPE") and manages large-scale infrastructure projects. She is committed to excellence in mentoring and teaching, as well as public outreach.

Dr. Duo Li

Duo Li 

Duo finished her Master’s and BSc degree in Geophysics at Peking University, China, in 2011 and 2013 respectively. She received a Ph.D. degree in Earth Science from McGill University, supervised by Prof. Yajing Liu in 2018. Duo is interested in a broad spectrum of subduction fault deformations and the underlying physics of megathrust earthquakes. She established numerical simulation of quasi-episodic slow slip cycle using the Boundary Element Method (BEM) with 3D curved fault configuration to study the effects of slab structure and fault heterogeneities. Duo started to work in the earthquake dynamic group of Dr. Alice-Agnes Gabriel Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) München in May 2018. She employs two start-of-art code packages - SeisSol ( and ExaHyPE ( - developed in ADER-DG numerical scheme to investigate multi-physics and multi-scale earthquake problems.

Nicolas J Hayek

Nicolas J. Hayek 

Jorge Nicolas Hayek graduated as a B.Sc. in Geosciences in 2015, and a B.Sc. in Physics in 2016 from Los Andes University, Bogotá, Colombia. Then in 2019, he graduated as an M.Sc. in Geophysics from the joint program of Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) München and the Technische Universität München (TUM). He joined the Earthquake Physics group led by Alice-Agnes Gabriel in LMU, as a Ph.D. student in 2020. His interests include interdisciplinary research on Geophysical material characterization and dynamics.

Dr. Carsten Uphoff

Carsten Uphoff

Carsten received the M.Sc. degree in electrical engineering and 
information technology from the Technical University of Munich (TUM) in 
2015. He then joined the Chair of Scientific Computing in Computer 
Science of TUM's informatics department and received the Dr. rer. nat. 
degree in 2020. In his research he applies advanced numerical methods on 
geophysical problems, such as large-scale dynamic rupture scenarios. His 
particular research interests are the use of code generation and 
compiling techniques to generate efficient and sustainable software, and 
to create scalable software for the latest supercomputers. During his 
doctoral studies he was one of the main developers of the earthquake 
simulation software package SeisSol.

Casper Pranger

Casper studied geology and geophysics at Utrecht University, where his main interest gradually gravitated towards numerical forward modelling of tectonic processes. He further pursued this line of research as a PhD student at ETH Zurich, where he developed open source numerical modelling tools and physical-mathematical bulk-rock descriptions of evolving fault systems. He is continuing this promising line of research in the scope of the TEAR project.

Dr. Dave A. May

Dave A. May

Dave qualified for his Ph.D. in Applied Mathematics from Monash University in 2009. From 2009-2011 he worked in the Department of Earth Sciences at ETH Zurich as an ETH Postdoctoral Research Fellow and from 2012-2016 as a senior research scientist within the Geophysical Fluid Dynamics group led by Professor Paul J. Tackley. He joined the Department of Earth Sciences at the University of Oxford in 2016 as a Senior Research Fellow in Computational Geosciences. 
His research focuses on using scientific computing to study a broad range of physical phenomena related to the dynamics of the solid Earth, with an emphasis upon the development of discretizations, fast scalable & optimal linear / nonlinear solvers and software exploiting high performance computing. 
He is an advocate of open source software development. He is a developer of the computational science software library Portable Extensible Toolkit for Scientific computing (PETSc).